Where Are You Going To Live?

When you tell people that you are going to knock down 90% of your house and move out for 7 months, you’d expect them to say something like ‘Wow, that sounds really exciting!’ or ‘Boy, that is going to suck.’  Invariably, the first question that anyone asks is ‘Where are you going to live?’ Like there is a universal 1:1 ratio for housing or something.  I’ve always found this a bit odd and have had fun coming up with pithy answers like ‘Oh, there are some nice boxes under the bridge at the creek’ or ‘We are renting an RV’ or ‘Oh snap, we didn’t think of that!’.

But now, I have an answer!  As of yesterday, we are going to be apartment dwellers for the first time in a long time.  It was actually a bit weird filling out a rental application, but we are going to be residents of Archstone Apartments in Willow Glen.

I’ll put it on the record that I’m not crazy about this place, but for 7 – 8 months, I think that we can live with it.  We have had four sets of friends of have lived or are living here while they do their homes and if they can manage, so can I.  In fact, one of my friends is perhaps the most particular person I know and if he can deal, we can too.

At the end of the day, the place is cheap (compared to our second choice which was going to be Santana Row).  It is clean, there are a bunch of kids.  It is close to parks and they allow dogs.  The stars lined up for us.  I’ve read mixed reviews on the place, but it is short term.  Oddly, the place is bigger than our current home, so we will love the additional space.

Like I mentioned in a previous post, plan ahead.  Had we waited until the last minute to find a place to live, we would have delayed the start of our construction by at least 2 months, probably more as that would have put us in the middle of the rainy season.

1 Comment

Filed under Apartment Dwelling, Planning

One response to “Where Are You Going To Live?

  1. Very good info. Lucky me I ran across your website by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

Leave a Reply

