Spectacle Electrical

I met with Bill from BLR Electric this week. We had a great meeting, but per my previous post about making decisions, the decisions associated with high voltage (110 / 220 (dryer & range)) were immense. We had all types of discussions on where to put can lights versus dome lights. Where to put outlets if I wanted additional ones on top of what got us to code. One question that was brought up was whether or not I’d be doing any welding in the garage. While I’ve never done any welding, it is something that I’ve wanted to learn to do. Why not, if you are adding additional amperage for something, throw it into the garage as well. Ultimately, though, we didn’t need that level of amperage, so I won’t be doing any welding in the near future. My neighbor is getting a hydraulic lift in his garage, so I suspect I’ll be able to weld over there if the inclination ever arises.

It seems to my inexperienced eye that our electrical system is going to be of the pretty plain vanilla variety.  Having lived in a house whose big upgrade to the system was adding a real circuit breaker and a negative ground fault to some of the outlets and switches, having something up to code will be pretty nice.  In California (or at least in San Jose), all rooms must be on at least 2 breakers.  One for outlets and one for switches and lights.  Bill explained that our board can handle 40 breakers and that we will use up most of them.  He was guessing about 35.  I think that is cool.  I just don’t want to be the guy to label them all.

This week, is the moment that I’ve been waiting for in this project.  I’m meeting with Geoff Stickland from Custom Innovations, Criag’s low voltage electrical guy.  Low voltage is audio, video, phone, alarm & network.   I was looking at the BestBuy circular in the paper today (yes, once in a while we still read an old fashion paper) and I’m amazed at how much the electronics that I want have come down in price.  When we first started thinking about this project, a 42″ plasma was in the $3,000 range.  There were no HD DVD players and terabyte storage was well over $1,000.   Since we are really limited on budget, I’m pretty glad that these things have all come down in price.  Holly and I have an agreement that whatever I spend on electronics, she can spend on furniture.  Since couches don’t conform to Moore’s Law, I’m coming out a winner in this one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Construction

Leave a Reply

